Sustainable Communities Leadership Summit

North Little Rock, Arkansas
Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Sustainable Communities Leadership Summit 2013
Sustainable Communities Leadership Summit
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Wyndham Riverfront, Little Rock, AR
2 Riverfront Place
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72114
United States

Map and Directions
2013 Summit Sponsors

Summit News 10-7-2013 - Jean Russell will have copies of her new book, Thrivability:  Breaking Through to a World that Works, at the Summit.  Hot off the press!!

Summit News:  USGBC Arkansas is an education Provider for the Thrivability Summit and will offer up to 12 Continuing Education Hours - AIA SD/HSW, P.E. and GBCI - for those attending the conference. 

Keynote Speakers for the 2013 Summit:
The Honorable Ruth Randleman,'s Jean Russell, and John Robert Smith, co-chair of Transportation for America

The Honorable Ruth Randleman
Jean Russell Ruth Randleman (left) -

The Honorable Ruth Randleman was elected Mayor of the City of Carlisle in 2003.  She has served on many boards and committees involved in local, regional, and state wide comprehensive planning efforts and has been instrumental in introducing smart planning principles to her community. 

Jean Russell (right) -

Jean Russell is a facilitator, coach, speaker, and writer. Jean navigates clients through the crucial questions of creating and nurturing collaborators and networks to develop healthy and productive relationships and organizational culture.

John Robert Smith -

Former Mayor Smith is the co-chair of Transportation for America, a national campaign that is bringing together the most diverse coalition anywhere, eager to reform how we spend transportation dollars at the federal, state and local level to create a safer, cleaner and smarter transportation system that works for everyone. He is the former Mayor of Meridian, Mississippi.

Expanded biographical information for all keynote speakers is available on the "Speakers" tab above.

Lodging, Transportation and Logistics

Please click on the "More Info" tab above to get detailed information on how to receive the special room rate of $86 at the Wyndham Riverfront Hotel in North Little Rock for the night of October 16th.

Agenda and Breakouts Details

Get details about the Summit agenda and other activities on the "Agenda/Program" tab.

2013 Summit Steering Committee

The Applied Sustainability Center would like to thank the following people who have served on our Steering Committee for the 2013 Summit.  This event would not be possible without their guidance and assistance.

Melinda Glasgow
City of Little Rock
Greg Nabholz
Nabholz Properties
Heather R. Nelson          
SEAL Corporation
Jill Ponder
City of North Little Rock
Donna Hardcastle
Argenta Arts District
J..D. Lowery
Arkansas Economic Development Commission
Ken Wasson
Arkansas Municipal League
Linda K. Smith
U.S. Green Building Council, Arkansas Chapter
Daven McCoy
Assistant to the Mayor, City of North Little Rock
Bob Major
North Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau
Ashley Height
North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce
Terry Hartwick
North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce
Bernadette Rhodes
Fit 2 Live, City of North Little Rock
Patrick Hays
Former Mayor, North Little Rock
Jenna Rhodes
Clinton School of Public Service
Judy Watts
Todd Larson
North Little Rock Economic Development Commission
Stephanie Slagle
North Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau


Contact Information

Payment Instructions

  • General Session tickets are $125.  Special rates available for Student and Non-Profit organizations.  Payment for the conference may be made by credit card or check.  If paying by check, registration will be confirmed upon receipt of your check.  Please reference first and last names and city/organization of registered persons so funds may be applied correctly.

    Mail checks to the following address:

    Applied Sustainability Center
    WJWH 552
    University of Arkansas
    Fayetteville, AR  72701

    Please make checks payable to University of Arkansas.

    Checks must be received by October 1, 2013.

Copyright © 2014 The Active Network, Inc.