Search for Life Beyond the Solar System: Exoplanets, Biosignatures & Instruments

Tucson, Arizona
Sunday, March 16, 2014

Video archive available here

The recorded virtual coffee is available here: Thursday

Conference Photo 1 and Photo 2School Photo

Invited Speakers

John Baross (U. Washington)
Natalie Batalha (NASA Ames)
Phil Hinz (UA)
Markus Kasper (ESO)
Alain Leger (Orsay)
Heike Rauer (DLR)
Lynn Rothschild (NASA Ames)
Ignas Snellen (Leiden)

Steve Benner (FFAME)
Olivier Guyon (UA, NAOJ)
Lisa Kaltenegger (MPIA, CfA)
Peter Lawson (NASA JPL)
Victoria Meadows (U. Washington)
Sara Seager (MIT)
Jill Tarter (SETI)

Motivated by the rapidly increasing number of known Earth-sized planets, the increasing range of extreme conditions in which life on Earth can persist, and the progress toward a technology that will ultimately enable the search for life on exoplanets, the Vatican Observatory and the Steward Observatory announce a major conference entitled The Search for Life Beyond the Solar System: Exoplanets, Biosignatures & Instruments.

Goal: The goal of the conference is to bring together the interdisciplinary community required to address this multi-faceted challenge: experts on exoplanet observations, early and extreme life on Earth, atmospheric biosignatures, and planet-finding telescopes.

: The sessions of the five-day meeting will include invited review and contributed talks, followed by extended discussions. There will be posters, but no parallel sessions. We will limit the number of attendees to 250 to allow interactions between the participants. The conference will include a banquet (Wednesday evening) and an afternoon break (Tuesday) and two evening slots for collaborative team meetings. The Friday morning session will include a coordinated discussion that will provide input for a conference summary.

LIST OF REGISTERED PARTICIPANTS:  The current list of participants who have registered or submitted an abstract is available here.

If you are presenting a poster, please prepare your poster in 36" x 48" or smaller format. Posters will be displayed during the entire week and multiple time slots have been reserved for poster viewing, ensuring visibility for poster presentations.

If you are presenting a talk, please bring your talk in Powerpoint, Keynote, or PDF format. The conference program also includes longer than usual questions and answers sessions, allowing more interactions and discussions between participants.

The conference proceedings will be published as a special issue of the International Journal of Astrobiology (Cambridge University Press). Contributions will be available through the NASA ADS system.

: An independently organized 3-day astrobiology school will precede the conference. The school will provide an introduction to graduate students and postdoctoral researchers to the multiple disciplines and concepts the conference builds upon. The school will be held at the University of Arizona's unique Biosphere 2 facility and lectures will be given by some of the invited speakers and University of Arizona faculty. The school, including accommodation and food, will be free for the participants of the EBI2014 conference. The Dean of the Astrobiology School is Dr Rory Barnes (University of Washington).

Contact Information

Payment Instructions

  • Important Dates:

    August 30, 2013:
    Abstract submission opens

    September 15, 2013
    2nd Announcement

    November 1, 2013: 
    Early Bird Registration Ends

    November 11, 2013:
    3rd Announcement

    December 1, 2013: 
    Deadline for School applications

    November 15, 2013:
    December 6, 2013: 
    Abstract submission closes

    December 7, 2013
    Late abstract submission opens
    (posters only)

    January 3, 2014:
    Conference program announced

    February 1, 2014:
    Regular registration ends, late registration opens

    February 15, 2013:
    Deadline for hotel reservation at reduced rate

    March 14-16, 2014:
    Astrobiology School at Biosphere2

    March 17-21, 2014:
    EBI2014 Conference

    March 22-25, 2014:
    LBT Science Workshop

    Scientific Organizing Committee
    Daniel Apai (UA, Co-Chair)
    Paul Gabor (Vatican Obs., Co-Chair)
    Ariel Anbar (ASU)
    John Baross (UW)
    Malcolm Fridlund (DLR)
    Thomas Henning (MPIA)
    Phil Hinz (UA) 
    Chris Impey (UA)
    James Kasting (PSU) 
    Peter Lawson (NASA JPL)
    Mercedes López-Morales (CfA)
    Jonathan Lunine (Cornell)
    Dante Minniti (PUC Chile) 
    Lynn Rothschild (NASA Ames)
    Daniel Rouan (Obs. Paris)
    Sara Seager (MIT)
    Wes Traub (NASA JPL)

    Local Organizing Committee
    Daniel Apai (UA, Co-Chair)
    Paul Gabor (Vatican Obs., Co-Chair)
    Nick Ballering (UA)
    Cathi Duncan (UA)
    Davin Flateau (UA)
    Kate Follette (UA)
    Juan Lora (UA)
    Benjamin Rackham (UA)
    Timothy Rodigas (UA)
    Andy Skemer (UA)
    Johanna Teske (UA)
    Donna Viola (UA)
    Ya-Lin Wu (UA)
    Rob Zellem (UA)

    Cancellation Policy
    Regarding February cancellations, as a rule, 75% of the registration fee will be refunded. Later cancellations will not be refunded unless special consideration is warranted.
© 2018
Quick, easy and affordable online event registration and event management software for all event sizes.