2017 Annual Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo (Daytona Beach)

Daytona Beach, Florida
Friday, April 28, 2017

2017 Annual Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo (Daytona Beach)
Friday, April 28, 2017 - Saturday, April 29, 2017

Hilton Daytona Beach Resort/Ocean Walk Village
100 N. Atlantic Avenue
Daytona Beach, Florida 32118
United States

Map and Directions

SORRY... registrations are closed.

Please contact FPTA Executive Director Lisa Bacot at 850-878-0855 or lisabacot@floridatransit.org if you have questions, want to provide a sponsorship, or inquire about late registrations.

Sponsored by FPTA, RTAP, FDOT, FACTS and Votran

It’s that time again – roundup your best drivers and technicians and come participate in the 2017 Annual Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo in Daytona Beach Florida.  The Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo combines the FPTA and RTAP roadeos into a single, colossal weekend honoring all of Florida’s paratransit and fixed route bus maintenance technicians and bus operators.

The year’s event is a joint effort of the Florida Public Transportation Association (FPTA), the Florida Rural Transit Assistance Program (RTAP), the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), and the Florida Association of Coordinated Transit Systems (FACTS), and hosted by Votran.

There will be training opportunities for the participants. Then the bus operator participant’s skills will be tested with a written test and the on-course competition.  The maintenance technicians will face similar challenges with a written test and a series of diagnostic tests.

As always, the event will end with an Awards Banquet that will crown and recognize our champions in the paratransit van and cutaway divisions, the fixed route bus division, and the maintenance technician’s team competition. This year a new paratransit maintenance competition has been added, in which one paratransit maintenance technician from each transit agency is eligible to compete.

The Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo will be hosted by Votran.  The host hotel is the Hilton Daytona Beach Resort/Ocean Walk Village at 100 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL  32118. 

Registration, orientation, training, written tests and the Friday evening reception and Saturday awards banquet will be held at the Hilton Daytona Beach hotel.  All competitors should report to the Hilton Daytona Beach on Friday morning at 11:00am for their mandatory orientation meeting.

The Saturday competition will take place across the street from the hotel at the Ocean Center.


The “2017 Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo Guide for Contestants and Judges” and the detailed scheduled of events are currently being finalized.  When updated, they will be posted on the Roadeo Guide and Roadeo Schedule tabs at the top of the page.

The following vehicle types will be used in the operator's driving competition:
  • Fixed Route - 2015 35-foot Gillig
  • Cutaways - 2016 Glaval Ford E-150
  • Small Vans - 2014 Mobility Ventures, MV1-DX

Click below for more detail on the 2017 Roadeo Vehicle Configurations:


NOTE:  In the event that any of the operator competition events do not have a minimum of (8) registrants, that event will be cancelled.  In the event of a cancellation, registered contestants will be given the opportunity to compete in another division or receive a refund of their registration fee.

To register, simply click on the "REGISTER NOW" box on the top right of page and you will be transferred to the 2017 Annual Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo on-line registration system.

Sponsored registration fees of $75 (covering all roadeo meals plus two hotel nights) will be provided to most participants and agency representatives.  Each Florida Paratransit agency is eligible for up to four (4) sponsored registrations - two operator participants and two agency representatives/judges. Fixed Route agencies are permitted one operator participant and one supervisor.  For the Maintenance Technicians, each FPTA transit agency can register up to three (3) fixed route maintenance technicians, one (1) paratransit maintenance technician, and one (1) support person.  Also, for this year a new paratransit maintenance competition has been added, in which one paratransit maintenance technician from each transit agency is eligible to compete as a sponsorted participant.

Sponsored participants do not need to make their hotel reservations – the Roadeo Coordinators will make your reservations when your roadeo registrations are received. Sponsored participants are responsible for their travel and incidental expenses. 

Non-sponsored attendees additional participants, judges, non-sponsor vendors and guests are welcome and will be offered a $150 registration fee that will cover all roadeo meals, including the Saturday evening awards banquet.

Non-sponsored individuals are responsible for all other expenses (travel, hotel, incidentals, etc.)


All Vendors interested in participating, providing sponsorships, or providing door prizes should review the “Vendor Tab” at the top of the page.


As customary, the winners in the Fixed Route Bus and Maintenance Technicians will be sent at no expense to compete in the National Bus Roadeo sponsored by the American Public Transportation Association (APTA).  The Roadeo organizers have been notified that:

To participate in the APTA International Bus Roadeo the participant's transit system must be an APTA transit system member or CTAA member. Additionally, APTA Bylaws state that APTA Management Company or State Association membership shall not take the place of the transit system membership. All registrations will be verified for transit system or CTAA membership and will be subject to cancellation.


Contact Information


    Competition Oversight & Judging

    Robert Westbrook

    Rule Book & Judging Coordinator

    Erin Schepers

    Hotel Coordination & Logistics

    Liz Stutts

    Finance, Vendor Coordination & Hospitality

    Lisa Bacot

Payment Instructions

  • Payments can be made by credit card, checks or purchase orders. 

    All checks and purchase order payments should be made payable to the “Florida Public Transportation Association” and sent to the attention of Lisa Bacot.  Invoices should be printed out from "Confirmation" page and submitted with the payment.  To print out your invoice, select the "Documents" option on the right side of the "Confirmation" page and then select "Invoice", then print the invoice.

    Payment for the Roadeo Registrations should be sent to:

    Lisa Bacot, Executive Director
    Florida Public Transportation Association
    P.O. Box 10168
    Tallahassee, FL  32302

    Phone:  850-878-0855
    Email:  lisabacot@floridatransit.org

© 2019
Quick, easy and affordable online event registration and event management software for all event sizes.