The Arctic Encounter Symposium

Seattle, Washington
Friday, February 07, 2014


On-line Registration is now closed.

We are sorry, but the Friday night dinner at the Aquarium is sold out. Registration for the conference alone is available - please click on the Register Now button for more details.


The goal of the Arctic Encounter Symposium is to engage participants in a focused discussion, through a balanced forum, highlighting shared interests and concerns of the United States and the global community as we look north to the last emerging frontier – the Arctic. The Symposium will incorporate a diverse group of leaders and experts to debate how a rapidly changing Arctic will impact international law, domestic policy, business and commerce, the environment, and the people of the Far North.

The program incorporates five plenary sessions, featuring 3-4 speakers and one moderator in each session, and two concurrent sessions featuring research presentations by leading academic experts from across the country. The Symposium is structured to challenge the status quo dialogue and to critically address the Arctic’s potential, to consider what is at stake, and to collaborate on solutions.

Leading experts, CEO’s, and thought leaders from the science technology, maritime, and energy industries top corporations and organizations are expected to attend. Congressional delegations from Alaska and Washington State have also been invited. The event is likely to draw between 250 and 350 attendees, including partners from the top environmental and maritime law firms in the Pacific Northwest and academics from across the country.

The two-day Symposium will take place at Seattle University with a dinner reception on Friday, February 7 at the Seattle Aquarium on Pier 59.

7.0 General Continuing Legal Education Credits Available

The Early Bird Registration Deadline has been extended to January 31, 2014!
Register Early and Save.

Confirmed Speakers:
  • Senator Lisa Murkowski, United States Senate, Keynote Speaker
  • Alaska Lieutenant Governor Mead Treadwell
  • The Honorable Fran Ulmer, Chair, U.S. Arctic Research Commission
  • Rear Admiral Richard T. Gromlich, Commander, 13th District, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Dr. Scott Borgerson, CEO, CargoMetrics and co-founder of The Arctic Circle
  • Alice Rogoff, Publisher of the Alaska Dispatch, founder and director of The Arctic Imperative, and co-founder of The Arctic Circle
  • Edward Itta, appointed by President Obama to the U.S. Arctic Research Commission, Former Mayor of the North Slope Borough of Alaska, former President of the Barrow Whaling Captains Association and the Inuit Circumpolar Council-Alaska
  • Raymond Arnaudo, Senior Advisor, Bureau of Oceans & International Environmental & Scientific Affairs, US Department of State
  • Representative Bob Herron, Alaska State Legislature, Co-Chair of the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission
  • Edith St-Hilaire, Consul General Of Canada
  • Marilyn Heiman, Director, U.S. Arctic Program, The Pew Charitable Trusts
  • Dr. Lawson Brigham, Distinguished Professor of Geography & Arctic Policy, University of Alaska Fairbanks, and Senior Fellow, Institute of the North
  • Doug Helton, Incident Operations Coordinator, The Office of Response & Restoration, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
  • Dr. James Overland, Oceanographer, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
  • Senator Lesil McGuire, Alaska State Legislature, Co-Chair, Alaska Arctic Policy Commission
  • John Iani, Attorney, Perkins Coie LLP
  • Ghislaine Maxwell, President, The TerraMar Project
  • Brendan Kelly, Assistant Director for Polar Sciences, The Office of Science & Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, The White House
  • Rick Fox, Senior Vice President & General Manager, Edison Chouest Offshore-Alaska
  • Celes Eckerman, Policy Director, williamsworks
  • Nils Andreassen, Executive Director, The Institute of the North
  • Paul Fuhs, President, Marine Exchange of Alaska
  • Reggie Joule, Mayor, The Northwest Arctic Borough
  • Colin Crawford, Robert C. Cudd Professor of Law & Executive Director, Payson Center for International Development
  • Clare Petrich, Commissioner, Port of Tacoma

Check back for speaker updates.

Contact Information

  • Inquiries about sponsor participation, media or programming may be directed to Rachel Kallander, Symposium Director at

    Inquiries about registration, lodging and other logistics may be sent by clicking the "E-mail Us" link below or by calling (206) 398-4281.

    Directions to Campus are available by clicking here: Driving Directions.
    A campus map is available by clicking here: Campus Map.
    Directions and a map to the Seattle Aquarium is available by clicking here: Seattle Aquarium.


© 2018
Quick, easy and affordable online event registration and event management software for all event sizes.