2016 Texas Groundwater Summit

San Marcos, Texas
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
2016 Summit Presentations
To view the 2016 presentations, click on the speakers' name or the panel title to view a PDF of the Summit slides. If there is a presentation missing that you'd like added or if there is a problem with the file, please email groundwater@iemshows.com.

Please note: audio files will be linked and available on this page in the coming weeks.         

Groundwater Updates

Keynote Address Audio
Evan Smith

Groundwater in the Media Audio
Moderator: Sarah Rountree Schlessinger, Executive Director, Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts
Kiah Collier, Environmental and Public Education Reporter, The Texas Tribune
Bruce Davidson, Editorial Page Editor, San Antonio-Express News
Brendan Gibbons, Environmental and Water Reporter, San Antonio Express-News
Kathleen Phillips, News and Media Relations Manager, Texas A&M Agrilife Communications

Moving Groundwater in Texas Audio
Moderator: Mike Gershon, Attorney, Lloyd Gosselink Attorneys at Law
James Beach, Senior Vice President, LBG-Guyton
Bill Dugat, Attorney, Bickerstaff Heath Delgado Acosta LLP
Russell Johnson, Attorney, McGinnis Lochridge & Kilgore LLP
Anastasia R. Valdes, CEO, Water Markets Inc.
Kelley A. Vickers, Executive Administrator, Guadalupe County GCD

Groundwater/Surface Water Audio
Moderator: Robert Mace, Deputy Executive Administrator, Texas Water Development Board
R. Kinnan Golemon, Founder and President, KG Strategies, LLC
Bill Hutchison, Independent Groundwater Consultant
Bridget Scanlon, Hydrologist and Sr. Research Scientist, Jackson School of Geosciences, UT Austin
Steve Young, Ph.D., Principal Geoscientist, INTERA

Groundwater Ownership & Transactional Law Audio
Moderator: Susana Canseco, Attorney, Branscomb PC
Denise Cheney, Attorney, Bickerstaff Heath Delgado Acosta LLP
Greg Ellis, Attorney, GM Ellis Law Firm PC
Rhonda Jolley, Attorney, Branscomb PC

Keynote Address Audio
Michael E. Webber, Ph.D., Author and Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Industry Growth & Conservation Audio
Moderator: Sharlene Leurig, Project Director, Texas Environmental Flows Project
Sen. Kip Averitt, Averitt & Associates
Karl Fennessey, Director of Strategic Development, ConocoPhillips
Laura Huffman, Texas State Director, The Nature Conservancy
Carlos Rubinstein, Principal, RSAH2O
Gary Spicer, Water Quality & Solid Waste Manager, Luminant Power

Legislators on Interim Charges Audio

Moderator: Sarah Rountree Schlessinger, Executive Director, Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts
Robert “Robby” Cook III
Representative John P. Cyrier, District 17, Texas House of Representatives
Representative Tracy O. King, District 80, Texas House of Representatives
Chairman Charles Perry, District 28, Texas Senate

Legislative Staff Panel Audio
Moderator: Sarah Rountree Schlessinger, Executive Director, Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts
Daniel Collins, Deputy Legislative Director, Office of Sen. Jose R. Rodriguez
Ross Giesinger, Legislative Director & General Counsel, Office of Sen. Lois Kolkhorst
Jeremy Hagen, Committee Director & General Counsel, Sen. Committee on Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs
Adam Haynes, Chief of Staff, Office of Representative James Keffer

Keynote Address
John W. Nielsen-Gammon, Texas State Climatologist
Conservation, Collaborations & Boards
Moderator: C.E. Williams, General Manager, Panhandle GCD

Helping Homeowners Conserve Water by Providing Access to Hourly Water Consumption Data Audio
Allen Berthold, Research Scientist, Texas Water Resources Institute

Conservation Outreach at North Plains GCD Audio
Kirk Welch, Assistant General Manager/Outreach, North Plains Groundwater Conservation District

Modeling Collaborations and GMAs Audio

Wade Oliver, Senior Hydrogeologist, INTERA

GCD Board Members and Managers Audio
Ron Fieseler, General Manager, Blanco-Pedernales GCD
Jim Polonis, General Manager, Sutton County UWCD
Bob Zimmer, Board President, North Plains GCD

Groundwater Databases: Design, Implementation & Impact Audio

Moderator: Alan Day, General Manager, Brazos Valley GCD
Erin Atkinson, Director of GIS, Halff Associates
Aaron Collier, Vice President, Collier Consulting
Royd Nelson, Vice President, Aquaveo
Heather Rein, Program Specialist III and Bryan Anderson, Groundwater Data Team Lead, TWDB
Groundwater Well Anatomy: Drilling, Field Techs & Abandoned Wells 
Moderator: Dave Mauk, General Manager, Bandera County River Authority and Groundwater District

Well Anatomy Audio
Pete Brien, Owner, Brien Water Wells

Boots on the Ground: A Field Tech’s Perspective Audio
Paul Babb, Groundwater Technician, Blanco-Pedernales GCD
Bobby Bazan, Water Resources Management Specialist, Post Oak Savannah GCD
Andy Garza, General Manager, Kenedy County GCD
Mitchell Sodek, Hydrologist, Central Texas GCD
Keith Whitworth, Supervisor, High Plains Water District

TGPC and Abandoned Water Wells Audio
Kathy McCormack, Natural Resources Specialist, TCEQ

Hydrogeology and O&G: Communications & Interactions Audio
Moderator: Dr. Joe Yelderman, Professor, Baylor University

The Edwards and Trinity Aquifer Systems – a Geochemical Analysis of Recharge and Hydrogeological Interaction
Bruce K. Darling, Senior Consultant, Hydrogeologist/Geochemist, Geosyntec Consultants

An Investigation of Potential Risks to Groundwater from Abandoned O&G Wells in Texas
Joshua Brownlow, Baylor University

Groundwater Protection and the Railroad Commission on Texas
Chris Moore, Technical Coordinator, Site Remediation, Oil and Gas Division, Texas Railroad Commission

Groundwater Quality in the Haynesville and Eagle Ford Shale Gas Production Areas of Texas
Patricia Ging, Hydrologist, Texas Water Science Center, USGS
Keynote Address Audio
Lesli Ginn, Chief Administrative Law Judge, State Office of Administrative Hearings

Case Law Discussion Audio
Moderator: Ty Embrey, Attorney, Lloyd Gosselink Attorneys at Law
Doug Caroom, Attorney, Bickerstaff Heath Delgado Acosta LLP
Kristen Fancher, Attorney, Smith Robertson Elliott & Douglas LLP
Vanessa Puig-Williams, Attorney, Puig-Williams Law
Paul Terrill, Attorney, The Terrill Firm, PC

Emerging Management Alternatives in Texas: Brackish Desalination and ASR Audio
Moderator: Greg Sengelmann, General Manager, Gonzales County UWCD
Cortney Brand, Vice President, Strategic Growth, Leonard Rice Engineers, Inc.
Andrea Croskrey, Geologist, Texas Water Development Board
Roberto Macias, ASR Plant Manager, San Antonio Water System
Dave Smith, Principal Scientist, CDM Smith


Contact Information

Payment Instructions

  • Remittance Information:

    Innovation Event Management
    ATTN: Texas Groundwater Summit
    5508 HWY 290 W, STE 208
    Austin, TX 78735

    For questions, please call 512-638-0937 or email groundwater@iemshows.com.

© 2020
Quick, easy and affordable online event registration and event management software for all event sizes.